An Englishwoman in New York /

by Anne-Marie Casey.
Bibliographic Details
Main Creator: Casey, Anne-Marie, 1965-
Summary:This homage to the charm and romance of New York is a coming-of-age novel for grown-ups that will appeal to readers of Helen Fielding's Bridget Jones's Diary, Allison Pearson's I Don't Know How She Does It and Melissa Bank's Girl's Guide to Hunting and Fishing. When Lucy's husband loses his job and is relocated to New York, she is forced to give up her posh London life and move to a tiny Manhattan apartment. Homesick and resentful at first, Lucy soon finds herself embarking on an exhilarating new affair - no, not with her husband, although she is surprised to find they do still love each other, but with the city itself and the three women she meets at the school gates who, against all odds, become her friends. Christy, married to a wealthy older man, questions her life choice as she fantasizes about her doorman and tries to make peace with her angry stepdaughter. Julia is a workaholic television writer who becomes convinced her family is better off without her, until a neighbour's dog makes her re-think everything. Meanwhile Robyn, bread-winning wife to an aspiring novelist, has had enough.
Format: Book
Language:English
Published / Created: London : John Murray, 2013.
Subjects:
Notes:Physical description: 275 pages ; 24 cm.
LEADER 02178cam a2200289 a 4500
001 vtls000641849
003 IeDuNL
005 20150216145500.0
008 150216s2013 enk r 000 f eng d
035 |a (OCoLC)827952009  |z (OCoLC)868033658  |z (OCoLC)871308378 
035 |a (OCoLC)ocn827952009 
039 9 |a 201502161455  |b Louise Healy  |y 201502161455  |z Louise Healy 
040 |a UKMGB  |b eng  |c UKMGB  |d YDXCP  |d CDX  |d OCLCF  |d AU@  |d OCLCO  |d AUAMR  |d OCLCO  |d leDuNL  |e rda 
100 1 |a Casey, Anne-Marie,  |d 1965- 
245 1 3 |a An Englishwoman in New York /  |c by Anne-Marie Casey. 
264 1 |a London :  |b John Murray,  |c 2013. 
300 |a 275 pages ;  |c 24 cm. 
336 |a text  |2 rdacontent 
337 |a unmediated  |2 rdamedia 
338 |a volume  |2 rdacarrier 
520 |a This homage to the charm and romance of New York is a coming-of-age novel for grown-ups that will appeal to readers of Helen Fielding's Bridget Jones's Diary, Allison Pearson's I Don't Know How She Does It and Melissa Bank's Girl's Guide to Hunting and Fishing. When Lucy's husband loses his job and is relocated to New York, she is forced to give up her posh London life and move to a tiny Manhattan apartment. Homesick and resentful at first, Lucy soon finds herself embarking on an exhilarating new affair - no, not with her husband, although she is surprised to find they do still love each other, but with the city itself and the three women she meets at the school gates who, against all odds, become her friends. Christy, married to a wealthy older man, questions her life choice as she fantasizes about her doorman and tries to make peace with her angry stepdaughter. Julia is a workaholic television writer who becomes convinced her family is better off without her, until a neighbour's dog makes her re-think everything. Meanwhile Robyn, bread-winning wife to an aspiring novelist, has had enough. 
650 0 |a Female friendship  |v Fiction. 
650 0 |a Coming of age  |v Fiction. 
651 0 |a New York (N.Y.)  |v Fiction. 
949 |a VIRTUAITEM  |d 90000  |f 1  |g 90000  |x 1  |6 34444101740967  |a 15A 1902 
999 |a VIRTUA  
999 |a VTLSSORT0080*0350*0400*1000*2450*2640*3000*3360*3370*3380*5200*6500*6501*6510*9992