Collection: Our Own Place Photographic Project >> Coosheen Golf Links [graphic]
Coosheen Golf Links
|Main Creator:||Newman, Thomas, photographer|
Coosheen Golf Links, a nine hole Course overlooks Coosheen Bay and Schull Harbour, and from the Clubhouse the view is quite stunning. The Course was designed and financed by Donal Morgan, son of the family who owned the land, which was originally named The Mine Farm, as the area was the site of a Copper mine in the 1890's, and one of the few signs remaining is the magazine round tower, used for storing explosives, near the 8th Green. By 1989/90 the course was opened to the public and will be affiliated to the Golfing Union of Ireland in 1994. The Club has proved to be a valuable asset, and is enjoyed by the Community and visitors to Schull and the Mizen Peninsula.
|Published / Created:||
27 May 1994
Project sponsored by RTÉ and Fuji Photo Film (Ireland) Ltd.
Film number: 17A ; frame number: 33
Mizen Historical & Archaeological Society
Photograph taken at 19:00 27 May 1994.
Physical description: 1 photograph ; 15 x 10cm.
Geographic Coverage: Schull, Co. Cork, Province of Munster, Ireland.
|Contained in:||Our Own Place Photographic Project|
|Call Number||View in||Collection|
|OOP_17A/33||NPA Reading Room - Appt. only||Photos|
Reproduction rights owned by the National Library of Ireland.