O'Rourks Hall at Drumahair, Co. of Leitrim
|Main Creator:||Bigari, Angelo Maria|
Drawing of a large roofless stone hall, which is O'Rourke's Hall, County Leitrim, Ireland, with side arcades and a large opening leading to another room. Trees grow out of the walls, and a hill is shown in the background.
|Format:||PRINTS & DRAWINGS|
|Published / Created:||
[ca. 22nd June, 1779].
Joseph Turner (ca. 1772-1835), did a copy of this drawing. See 2122 TX (2) 29 for more details.
This loose drawing was formerly on page 5 of Austin Cooper's "Scarapbook of Irish Antiquities", but became detached.
Title inscribed in ink l.c. on sheet.
When this drawing was acquired by the National Library of Ireland, the drawing was mounted, on a piece of modern cardboard, bearing on the back the comment: These archaeological drawings are the work of the well known 18th century artists Bigari and Beranger, being part of the collection of Austin Cooper, F.S.A., and William Burton Conyngham, which comprise a unique collection. They are heirlooms of the Cooper family, with others in our possession.
Physical description: 1 drawing : ink & watercolour ; image 16.1 x 23.9 cm., within ink frame 16.4 x 24.1 cm., on sheet 18.9 x 26.3 cm.
Citations/References: Engraved in: Antiquities of Ireland / Francis Grose. - Vol. II, 1791 Pl. 35, p. 92
Citations/References: Memoir of Gabriel Beranger / Sir William Wilde. - Dublin 1880 p. 41
Attributed to Angelo Maria Bigari (fl. 1772-1779), who did a tour of Connaught with his friend Gabriel Beranger (1729-1817), in the summer of 1779.