No results
Your search returned too many results to display in the tree. Showing only the first items. For a full search click here.

Irish Labour Party Archive,


View the full collection in a new tab
In Collection: Irish Labour Party Archive, 1919-2014
Description: The Labour Party was founded in May 1912 in Clonmel, Co. Tipperary, when delegates at the Irish Trade Union Congress voted to contest elections on the proposal of James Connolly. This was done to seek trade union representation in the new Irish ‘Home Rule’ parliament due to be created under the terms of the Third Home Rule (Government of Ireland) Bill debated in the House of Commons in 1912. The Labour Party first contested the general election of 1922 and served as the parliamentary opposition of the Irish Free State between 1922-1927. The Labour Party has participated in Government on eight occasions: 1948-1951; 1954-1957; 1973-1977; June 1981-March 1982; December 1982-1987; 1993-1994; 1994-1997; and 2011-present. Six leaders of the Labour Party have served in the office of Tánaiste: William Norton; Brendan Corish; Michael O’Leary; Dick Spring; Eamon Gilmore; and Joan Burton. Two candidates nominated by the Labour Party have been elected to the office of President of Ireland, Mary Robinson, who served from 1990-97, and Michael Daniel Higgins, elected in 2011. The collection is principally composed of the records held in the various headquarters of the Labour Party from 1919-2014. It includes: minutes of meetings of various units of the organisation; published reports, conference documentation; manifestos and policy statements; files concerning local, presidential, European and general election campaigns; files concerning constitutional referendum campaigns; periodicals; photographic prints; election ephemera; financial accounts; donations; staff files; and correspondence.
Main Creator: Labour Party (Ireland)
Language: English
Extent: 79 boxes.
1252 photographs.
Call Number: MS 49,494 (Manuscripts Reading Room)
Rights: Copyright owned by the National Library of Ireland.
Access Conditions: Certain materials concerning donations, personnel and electioneering; Not available for consultation until 2027; Written permission;